Highlighting Filmmakers: “Tempest” by Lauren Pokorney


The spring semester of my freshman year at college found me in Video I, a class that teaches the basics of structuring and editing together video. For the final assignment, each student was instructed to film and edit together a 1-5 minute project. So, sticking with the same great group of fellow students and friends that I’d worked with during previous assignments, I set out writing and filming Tempest. After a couple drafts of the overall concept, I was finally able to write the beginning and the middle but found myself unsure of exactly how the short film should wrap up. That was until one night, right as I was about to drift off to sleep, when a clever finale presented itself to me.

A psychological thriller, Tempest tells the story of Ellie, a young woman in college who finds it difficult to cope with the sometimes inclement weather.


Give Us Your Take On This Movie!

